Guggemos repeats as Lake Michigan Conference champion

Chris Dobrowolski

CHARLEVOIX — Kalkaska senior runner Tyler Guggemos repeated as the Lake Michigan Conference champion after taking first overall in the league final on Saturday in Charlevoix.

Guggemos ran a time of 16:12, 37 seconds faster than the time he recorded at last year’s league championships at Boyne Mountain. League runner up Cal Benjamin from Harbor Springs was 16 seconds back from Guggemos. It was the third time Guggemos has earned a spot on the all-conference team, reserved for the top five runners in the conference.

Elk Rapids’ Charlie Ward also earned all-conference honors, finishing fourth in 17:15. Ward was a big part of Elk Rapids finishing as runners up in the team standings. Traverse City St. Francis won the title with 62 points, followed by the Elks with 76 and Kalkaska in third with 79.

Read the full story in our regular edition of The Review. To subscribe to the paper for just $36 a year, which includes access to our full online e-edition, please go to the subscription page on this website at:






The Review


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 313
Bellaire, MI 49615
Phone: 231-533-5651
Fax: 231-533-4662
Physical Address: 
4470 S. M-88 Hwy.
Bellaire, MI 49615

View Map

Email Us

Facebook Facebook Twitter

Latest articles

Thu, 05/23/2024 - 4:00am
Thu, 05/23/2024 - 4:00am
Thu, 05/23/2024 - 1:00am

Please Login for Premium Content