Commissioners re-elect chair, vice-chair

Linda Gallagher, Contributing Writer

BELLAIRE – In a nearly exact repeat of last year's annual organizational meeting, the Antrim County Board of Commissioners last Wednesday re-elected both its chair and vice-chair, and once again opted to retain its current committee and meeting structure.

But those decisions did not come without debate, which began when Commissioner Dawn LaVanway nominated former vice-chair Karen Bargy for the top position.

At the request of Commissioner Melissa Zelenak, both Bargy and incumbent chair Ed Boettcher – nominated by Commissioner Christian Marcus – spoke in support of their nominations, citing what they felt were past accomplishments as commissioners and goals for the future.

With a motion by Commissioner Bryan Smith, supported by Brenda Ricksgers, it was decided that the position of chair would be decided via secret ballot, which resulted in five votes for Boettcher and three for Bargy, with District 1 Commissioner Dave Heeres absent from the meeting.

Bargy was then unanimously approved as vice-chair of group.

Read the full story in our regular edition of The Review. To subscribe to the paper for just $34 a year, which includes access to our full online e-edition, please go to the subscription page on this website at:


The Review


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 313
Bellaire, MI 49615
Phone: 231-533-5651
Fax: 231-533-4662
Physical Address: 
4470 S. M-88 Hwy.
Bellaire, MI 49615

View Map

Email Us

Facebook Facebook Twitter

Please Login for Premium Content