Commissioners elect new vice-chair

Linda Gallagher

BELLAIRE — During a brief annual organizational meeting held on Monday, Jan. 3, the Antrim County Board of Commissioners re-elected District 5 Commissioner Terry Van Alstine as chairman of the board, and District 1 Commissioner Jarris Rubingh as the board's new vice-chair. 

District 8 Commissioner Jason Helwig was reported as ill and did not attend the meeting. 

Rubingh took the position held since 2017 by District 3 Commissioner Karen Bargy, who was also nominated but lost out to Rubingh by a vote of five to three, with Commissioners Rubingh, Marcus, Van Alstine, Watrous, and LaVanway voting in favor of Rubingh. 

Read the full story in our regular edition of The Review. To subscribe to the paper for just $36 a year, which includes access to our full online e-edition, please go to the subscription page on this website at:






The Review


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 313
Bellaire, MI 49615
Phone: 231-533-5651
Fax: 231-533-4662
Physical Address: 
4470 S. M-88 Hwy.
Bellaire, MI 49615

View Map

Email Us

Facebook Facebook Twitter

Latest articles

Wed, 06/12/2024 - 12:51pm
Wed, 06/12/2024 - 12:47pm

Please Login for Premium Content