Three Blazers share softball team MVP award

Chris Dobrowolski

KALKASKA — The Kalkaska softball team handed out its postseason awards after the conclusion of the 2019 season and a trio of Blazers’ seniors shared the team MVP honors.

Infielders Angela Iott, Kayla Cavanaugh and Loren Schwab were co-MVPs for the year, leading the Blazers to a 27-9 overall record. Kalkaska went 13-1 in the Lake Michigan Conference to win the league championship.

Additionally, Iott, Cavanaugh and Schwab racked up first team all-conference, all-district and all-region accolades. Iott led the team in hitting with a .480 average and 48 hits. She also drove in 28 runs and scored 41. Cavanaugh paced the team with 44 runs scored. She added 44 hits, 32 RBIs and hit .376. Schwab batted .360 with 32 hits, including two home runs, and scored 42 runs. In the pitchers circle she went 12-4 on the year.


Read the full story in our regular edition of The Review. To subscribe to the paper for just $34 a year, which includes access to our full online e-edition, please go to the subscription page on this website at:





The Review


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 313
Bellaire, MI 49615
Phone: 231-533-5651
Fax: 231-533-4662
Physical Address: 
4470 S. M-88 Hwy.
Bellaire, MI 49615

View Map

Email Us

Facebook Facebook Twitter

Please Login for Premium Content