Side Bar - BOC meeting change is a move forward

John Tarrant

Antrim County’s newly elected Board of Commissioners took a giant step forward at their organizational meeting Jan. 2 when they voted 5 to 4 to change meeting times from the second Thursday of each month at 9 a.m. to two meetings per month with one of those meetings being held in the evening.

Proving that new faces on the board can actually make a difference, newly elected commissioner Terry VanAlstine made a motion to approve a resolution to hold two meetings per month, one on the first Thursday of each month at 9 a. m. and the second on the third Thursday of the month at 7 p.m. Voting to approve the meeting change, in addition to Mr. VanAlstine, were commissioners Karen Bargy and Dawn LaVanway as well as newly elected board members Josh Watrous and newly appointed board member Jason Helwig, appointed to fill the position vacated by Scott Kruger. Voting against the change were commissioners Ed Boettcher, David Heeres, Brenda Ricksgers and Christian Marcus.

Read the full story in our regular edition of The Review. To subscribe to the paper for just $34 a year, which includes access to our full online e-edition, please go to the subscription page on this website at:


The Review


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 313
Bellaire, MI 49615
Phone: 231-533-5651
Fax: 231-533-4662
Physical Address: 
4470 S. M-88 Hwy.
Bellaire, MI 49615

View Map

Email Us

Facebook Facebook Twitter

Please Login for Premium Content