Council down two members after Kelly resigns

Dennis Mansfield, Contributing Writer

KALKASKA – And, then, there were five.

Actually, there was only four. The Kalkaska Village Council struggled to have a quorum to hold its regular meeting Monday, Feb. 12, with Village president Jeff Sieting absent and yet another council member having resigned.

In a letter dated Feb. 2, Denise Kelly said she was resigned from the council “effectively immediately.”

“For personal reasons, I, Denise L. Kelly, resign my position as a Village of Kalkaska trustee,” Kelly wrote. “Thank you to the residents for your support. I wish nothing but the best for everyone.”

With regret, the four council members who did make Monday’s meeting unanimously voted to accept Kelly’s resignation.

“Under protest,” said trustee Penny Dupuie. “She’ll definitely be missed.”

“Amen,” added Damien White, who presided over the meeting in Sieting’s absence.

Kelly is the second council member to resign in less than a month. Trustee Kathleen Sanborn announced her intention to resign from the council effective Jan. 15.

Read the full story in our regular edition of The Review. To subscribe to the paper for just $34 a year, which includes access to our full online e-edition, please go to the subscription page on this website at:



The Review


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 313
Bellaire, MI 49615
Phone: 231-533-5651
Fax: 231-533-4662
Physical Address: 
4470 S. M-88 Hwy.
Bellaire, MI 49615

View Map

Email Us

Facebook Facebook Twitter

Please Login for Premium Content